Golden Hour

For my ILP this week I went out with some friends to the Chadron State Park and hiked around looking for some pictures to take. I had a lot of fun with it this week, mostly focusing on nature pictures but a few with people just doing whatever, without posing them for a shot.

One of the biggest points when photographing nature is to be aware of the sun and how the shadows are affecting the object. If the sun is too high in the sky it will wash out the subject. Typically, there two times of the day that are really good for outdoor photos, called golden hour. This time is both a little bit before sunrise until around 30-45 minutes after the sunrise and 1 ½-2 hours before sunset until sunset. These two times are when the sun cast a “golden” glow that isn’t too harsh for taking photos and you get really great contrast within the photo.

So, with my photos this week I mostly focused on interesting, or as my friend Torri Brumbaugh called it, artsy pictures. The pictures I took tended to be either of long range, landscape type shots or extremely close, detailed shots. I don’t do a lot of mid-ranges simply because they don’t tend to be my favorite, I plan to start working on the mid-ranges within the next week or two. Anyways, for my photos I made sure that my camera was getting the area I wanted it to, was focusing on a specific area of the photo, and that my shadow was not in the picture.dsc_0030 My shadow being in the picture was kind of an issue I ran into simply because we were walking with our backs to the sun for the first part of the hike plus it was getting close to sunset causing a really long shadow to be cast from me.

 

Some of my favorite pictures this week were a good mix of the close-up ones and the far away landscapes. I also have a few in there with my friends, kind of a behind the scenes of what was going on. In one of my favorites, Kodi Baumann is look out over Chadron State Park and Torri is taking a picture of it. I thought that the picture was really cool simply because of all the layers in it. From Torri, taking the picture, to Kodi, looking out, then to the background of the state park, it was just interesting and I thought people’s eyes would move very smoothly through the photo.

8 thoughts on “Golden Hour

  1. Mackenna, first off WOW I loved looking at the pictures. I think you did an excellent job of capturing the beauty of the natural landscape. I never really considered how much work goes into capturing the perfect shot, from the angle, the time of day, and the range. I really enjoy reading about your ILP and look forward to your future blogs.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Having people look at my work is a little nerve wracking but I’m getting more used to it. I definitely think that there are a lot of aspects of photography and it sounds like a lot but it really isn’t too bad once you get outside and start taking pictures!

      Like

  2. I really loved looking at the pictures you took! I think you did a great job capturing the natural landscape as well as capturing your friends doing things that they would always do. I never considered how much work you have to put in to create the perfect photo so that there isn’t something in there that takes your eyes away from the beautiful scenery. I can’t wait to read your future blogs and see what other photos you take in the weeks to come.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I really do enjoy photography and figuring out new ways to accomplish different photography ideas/concepts. It really isn’t much thinking once you actually get out and start taking photos.

      Like

  3. Great pictures! It seems like you’re learning a lot from your project! I love reading your blogs every week because I can always count on a new picture you took during the week. My favorite pictures are of nature and I have to say that one for the cover of your blog is a really good picture!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I really love writing about photography and all of the different things you have to think about. Once you learn about all of the foundations of photography it really is just a lot of pointing and shooting, you don’t have to do a ton of thinking, just a lot of looking back at your pictures on your camera and doing the corrections you think it needs.

      Like

  4. How interesting! I remember seeing before that you love photography, I think it’s a wonderful hobby. I would really like to learn to take photos but I don’t think I have the patience for it. There seems to be so much involved in photography, I think it is a real talent. I will be interested to see your progression in to mid-range shots in the upcoming weeks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

