San Francisco

I am extremely excited to show off the pictures I have been taking lately for my Individual Learning Project. I had the opportunity to go to San Francisco with my mom over spring break. San Francisco is an incredible place and I get to show how I saw the city through my camera lens.

First things first, San Francisco’s food diversity is incredible and I was in absolute heaven. I know that doesn’t have a lot to do with what my ILP is about but it did influence what and where I took some of my pictures. I found some of the restaurants were so adorable but unfortunately the glare and sun did not like my camera much so many of my photos were deleted. One of my favorite places we got to eat at was a Thai place that I couldn’t pronounce. The pictures I have are from a sushi boat restaurant.DSC_0072DSC_0076

 

 

 

 

 

I did try some food photography but the finished pictures I see of other food photography takes so much more work and I not think I had any of the right equipment. That would be a cool thing to try to figure out for the coming weeks.

Anyways, back on track! I enjoyed myself so much throughout my time in the city. I adored Chinatown during my first full day in San Francisco.DSC_0064DSC_0025

 

 

 

 

 

We stayed at a hotel that was like 6 blocks away from Chinatown but the blocks in San Francisco are extremely steep and our calves were burning but we got some great pictures. I think that the fact that it was cloudy and rainy created a great environment to shoot in.

The street art throughout the city was also incredible. Some of the walls were all so colorful and just expressed so many different emotions. One was also a little more somber and that was conveyed through the colors and pictures.

The Golden Gate Bridge was an adventure to find. We go off the bus early and so we ended up walking a very long way to get to it. I did get some great shots of the bridge from further away, mid-range, and really close of the bridge. I think I really got to grow as a photographer to see the different angles and areas around the bridge. I enjoyed being able to experience a much different climate and diverse area than I had been exposed to before this trip. I have been other places in the US but unfortunately I never got to take my camera with me but I will from now on.

16 thoughts on “San Francisco

  1. MacKenna,
    What an awesome way to spend spring break! I personally have such a fun time doing things with my mom… prime example: surprise trip Vegas for my 21st!!! 🙂 I wish I would have had some of your camera skills when I was on my trip. I love when people share pictures on their blogs because I am able to actually visualize what they are talking about in their blog. I’m sure that’s why I found yours so interesting to read! It was pictures galore! Did you find it difficult to carry along your camera on your trip or were you just so excited to take pictures that you didn’t even notice?? I think I personally would be stuck in the middle. Sometimes I would be like this is a pain and others I would be like oh my gosh I’m so glad I brought this! Anyways continue to post lots of pictures with your blogs, I love them!

    Like

    1. My mom actually brought a really great little back pack so when I knew I wasn’t taking pictures I could just put it in there but otherwise I have a neck strap so it isn’t too bad! Thank you so much for you compliments on my pictures. It really means so much to me!

      Like

  2. Your pictures look awesome to me! I took one photography class my first semester about 8 years ago to fill a void in my schedule and honestly loved every second of it. You are exactly write, it takes a lot of practice to know the angles, the distance, and the lighting that will make every picture perfect. I thought it was easier than it was before I started taking my own pictures. It would be such an incredible experience to travel and photograph the world for your job wouldn’t it?

    Like

    1. I would absolutely be in love if I could just travel and take pictures. That is definitely on my bucket list to be able to to that someday. I think that so many people underestimate how much goes into photographs and that everyone should be exposed to it at some point! Thank you for reading my post!

      Like

  3. Your trip seemed super fun! All of your pictures were nice, and bright, and quite honestly could go in a travel magazine! My favorite is the one from the sushi boat where the food was in little boats. The angle and everything looks so professional! I also really enjoyed the street art! They all were well done and I would love to go visit there sometime! Great post! Make sure to take your camera on all trips and share with us!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I would love to just go on trips all around the world and take pictures all day, unfortunately that takes time and money that I don’t have. For now I’ll just stick to around here and see where that gets me. Thank you again for reading my post!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What an awesome way to spend spring break! I think your pictures look amazing and I bet you had a lot more that you took! I really like your photos of the art on all of the different walls because that really shows what the streets in San Francisco look like! Your photos made it seem like I was there to experience it all myself! I can’t wait to see your future photography and the other places you travel!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I really did have a blast and I just had to go through all of my pictures and delete some of the ones I took multiples of or that didn’t turn out. Taking the pictures is a blast, going though them and figuring out which ones to keep is a whole other story!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great trip for break! It seems like the weather was gorgeous! I think that your pictures look great, my favorites are of the graffiti you found across the city. I also like the collage you made to put them in your blog. I think that it’s cool that you got to explore the city to see all the different things that you could take pictures of! Really cool.

    Like

    1. The weather was interesting. It was a lot cooler than I expected it to be, the wind and clouds would make the weather a bit unpredictable. I had a blast looking at everything that the city had to offer. So much more happening than what I’m used to and I loved every minute of it. Thank you so much for reading my blog!

      Like

  6. How fun that you got to travel to San Francisco for break!! After looking through your pictures and reading your blogs, I almost feel as if I was there with you! Even though I have never been serious about photography, I have always thought that it would be a fun skill to have! Street art is always one of my favorite things to stop and look at whenever I visit a new city. I think there are so many individual stories to be told through these paintings and they reflect the diversity of each different city. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I totally agree about the street art, I think that it is just so fascinating. I could never in a million years accomplish that talent and beauty, I just like to capture it through a lens and let others enjoy it! I am glad you enjoyed the post, thank you again for reading!

      Like

  7. Mackenna,
    it looks like you had an amazing time on your trip! The pictures you took are amazing. My favorite one is of those literal sushi boats that are in that water, that is so cool! I had classes through another university during spring break, so I didn’t technically get one, it’s fun to vicariously live through you and your pictures/spring break experience. I also love that you went with your mom! So glad that you shared your awesome pictures and experience with us :).
    Hillary

    Like

Leave a Reply

